Marijuana card

A Short Guide to Getting a Marijuana Card in the Golden State

California is where it all began back in 1996 with the passing of Proposition 215. Also known as the Compassionate Use Act, it made the Golden State the first to legalize medical marijuana in the U.S.
Let’s look at what you need to do to get your medical marijuana card in California.

The Old-Fashioned Way
For those of you who prefer to do things the traditional way, here’s what you do. First, you must be 18 years or older. If you are, visit a doctor for an exam to determine if you’re eligible. Only people with specific ailments can be approved for a card.
Once you’ve been deemed eligible, you’ll need proof of ID and proof of residency to apply for your card. Next, you’ll fill out the application, taking it and all of your documentation to your County Program. It may take 30 days or more to receive your medical marijuana card.

The Modern Method
Thanks to technology, you can now get your medical marijuana card in as little as 10 minutes. If waiting a month or more sounds ridiculous, here’s what you do.
Head to one of the online websites that offer medical marijuana card services – Heally, for example. You’ll see a doctor there who will determine your eligibility and give a recommendation if you qualify. You’ll still need proof of residency and ID, but once deemed eligible, you’ll receive a unique ID code that’s registered with the state. At that point, you can use your recommendation to buy weed at any dispensary in the state. It literally takes minutes to get your medical marijuana card this way.
This short rundown gives you an idea of the process you must go through to obtain a medical marijuana card in California. For more information, contact your local dispensary.